Book Review: The Story Of Us By Dani Atkins

the story

Title: The story of us

Author: Dani Atkins

Date published: August 2014

About the book

The story of us is a beautifully written tug of the heart love triangle book based on the lead female character Emma Marshall, whose life is turned upside down when she is involved in a car accident on the night of her hen do, with her two best childhood friends Amy and Caro (Caroline).

Emma is a normal woman, her life is mapped out in front of her with her childhood boyfriend she is about to marry, till the accident changes everything. The accident leads to unanswered questions, heart ache, betrayal that shatters her world and is hard to get over, love for the man she’s about to marry and the love of the man who rescues her and a beautifully perfect ending,  who will be with her at the end, there’s two men and only one is her destiny.

My review

This is the first book of Dani’s that I have read and it took my breath away. It is a book I will read time and time again as I just want to be with these wonderful characters and their love story that is deliciously beautiful, all-consuming and I fell in love with it.

I adored the way Dani wrote this story, Emma thinking she had met the man of her dreams yet in one moment her life changes forever, spinning her life on its axes taking her heart on a different journey, one that she and I will cherish.

The moment Jack enter the pages he stole my heart, with a mystery background, secrets he’s holding close to his chest, I just wanted to know more about him, and it helped that he was devilishly handsome.

Richard Emma’s fiance I wasn’t a fan of he angered me, frustrated me and I really disliked him. from the outside he was this great guy but when the accident happens we see another side to him one that breaks Emma’s heart, leaves her questioning her past and her future.

It was touching the use of an illness ( no spoilers) is a delicate, understanding and sympathetic way. you get to see this tragic illness from multiple points of view from the person going through to love ones having to deal with losing the person they most love.

This is a book stole my heart, I will never forget it, thank you for writing such a wonderful story Dani.

Peanut xx

2 comments

Leave a Reply

